Skip Navigation, or press ALT and K together and then press enter.Welcome to the DCYA website. This site has been developed for both the visually impaired and non visually impaired. If you would like to use the visually impaired version of this site please go to, or press ALT and I together and then press enter

The North South Ministerial Council

The North South Ministerial Council (NSMC) was established under the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement (1998), to develop consultation, cooperation and action within the island of Ireland - including through implementation on an all-island and cross-border basis - on matters of mutual interest and within the competence of the Administrations, North and South. The NSMC, therefore, comprises Ministers of the Northern Ireland Executive and the Irish Government, working together to take forward cooperation between both parts of the island to mutual benefit.

There are four levels of meetings held by the NSMC:

 i) Institutional Meetings
 ii) Plenary Meetings
 iii) Sectoral Meetings
 iv) Officials' Meetings

For further information see the NSMC official website.